Temple Tours: Ko Samui

Wat Plai Laem

Having been to a temple tour in Bangkok which took half the day, you would think I would have been bored by all these temples by now. To be honest, even I had thought the same but I wasnโ€™t bored of these temples. I still loved feeling that sense of tranquillity that surrounded me whenever I visited a temple.

The architecture continued to leave me in awe. There were some familiar faces in the temples, as they also worship Hindu deities. As usual I was engrossed in my surroundings as I kept clicking away with my camera. Many Buddhist temples I have come across so far have painted illustrations detailing the stories of the past; of myths, legends, religious stories and historic moments in time.

Unlike Bangkok, my family and I only saw a couple of temples in Ko Samui before we went to have a look around a shopping area. Here are the temples we saw:

Wat Plai Laem

Laughing Buddha
Laughing Buddha

Iโ€™m not quite sure what the name of this temple is in English, but it was amazing. Some statues in the temple were of the Hindu deities along with the statues ofย  Buddha.

Laughing Buddha 2
Laughing Buddha
Ganesa
Ganesa

The Hindu ditties that mostly featured at this temple were Shiva (the destroyer), Brama (The Creator), and Ganesa (wisdom, knowledge, and new beginnings).

Big Buddha

Big Buddha
Big Buddha

This was one of my favourite temples out of all the ones we had seen so far. The statue of Buddha was surrounded by different sized bells which you hit with a stick.

Leave a Reply

